This unique town is located where three streams descend from the Mississippi bluff and was founded by Jacob Maeys in 1852. The original settlers were German immigrants from the former Bavarian Rheinpfalz. The buildings in the village were built into the hilly landscape in a unique manner. The slopes were not graded level for building, but the design of the buildings were fitted into the landscape itself. There are sixty buildings built in the mid to late 1800's that still exist. Still standing is a stone church built in 1865-67 that held German services until 1943. Many of other original houses and buildings in Maeystown have also been preserved. Maeystown in its entirety was listed on the National Register of Historic Places in 1978.
Alfonse Smolkant House, Stonemason, 1892.
Gus Oiehl House, Jewelry shop, 1908.
Ludwig Aheheim House, 1867.